• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Wanting to try this out

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Offline tdlnx - Posted February 15 2021 - 8:11 AM

tdlnx

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • LocationIndiana

Hi all, I’m brand new to this hobby and I want to make sure I jump in correctly when I finally do so.

I’m planning on keeping pogonomyrmex occidentalis since they are by far the easiest to get ahold of and seem to be good for starting out. Would it be a good idea to maybe try keeping a collection of workers without a queen first until I feel more comfortable? I know the colony won’t grow (obviously) without a queen but I’d hate to accidentally kill a queen while I’m learning.

Also, a lot of the pre-build formicariums I’ve seen look very small is this normal? I may just be overestimating the room these ants actually need.

#2 Offline Kaelwizard - Posted February 15 2021 - 8:33 AM

Kaelwizard

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,852 posts
  • LocationPoway, California
They need a small nest to start out and as the colony grows they need larger nests. If you want you can definitely start with some workers.

#3 Offline tdlnx - Posted February 15 2021 - 9:00 AM

tdlnx

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 74 posts
  • LocationIndiana

Ok perfect, that’s what I’ll do to start then. 

#4 Offline Scherme - Posted February 15 2021 - 9:31 AM

Scherme

Advanced Member