• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New Keep (P. RUGOSUS)

p. rugosus

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Beginners_Burrow - Posted January 6 2024 - 10:57 AM

Beginners_Burrow

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationDetroit, Michigan

Hello! 

I am new to ant keeping. I found someone in the GAN project and ordered what they said are Dark Harvester Ants. When they came there were from Ant Vault and they have Dark Harvester Ant as P. Rugosus. I have been trying to look up care for them or any info I can get and its all a big conflicting. Right now I have the queen and about 5+ workers in a test tub. I am keeping them dark and warm for now until I get this sorted out. 

I want to keep them in a natual terrarium so here are my questions. 

5 gallon tank big enough? When I talk to them they said that would be perfect. 

How would he heat it? They suggest a heat mat but that would not keep several inchest of earth warm and the air in the tank. Heat lamp with day and night bulbs? 

What kind of substrait would be best for them to tunnel into? 

What plants would you suggest for them? 

5 gallons tank of flat sand with a mound in it sounds kind of boring but from what little I could find that almost seems best. What are my option? If you have succesfully kept them what would you suggest I do? 

Attached Images

• 20240106_132219.jpg

• rptraut likes this