• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hoping to get a colony off the ground soon

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Offline spinyeti - Posted August 4 2015 - 6:19 AM

spinyeti

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationConnecticut, USA
Hello! I'm an engineer in the aviation industry living in Connecticut. I have been thinking about owning ants for about five years now, but lacked the space and was never prepared for nuptial flights.

A couple of weeks ago however, what appears to be a Camponotus pennsylvanicus alate "terrorized" my girlfriend by landing on her in her bedroom. I've caught it and transitioned it to a test tube which is now in a drawer in my office.

I have no real way to tell if she's fertile except to wait and read everything I can. The threads and posts I've found here have been very informative and have given me hope!

At the very least, I'm going to end up being very prepared for next spring, and will finally have ants of my own...
  • Herdo likes this

#2 Offline Herdo - Posted August 4 2015 - 6:30 AM

Herdo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • LocationGlendale, Arizona

Congrats.  It's not like you are too late this year either.  You should have plenty of opportunities to find queens in your area throughout August if this queen isn't fertile.

#3 Offline spinyeti - Posted August 4 2015 - 6:42 AM

spinyeti

Advanced Member

• Members