• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Where to begin?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Offline orgetorix - Posted July 2 2021 - 1:00 PM

orgetorix

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Hello, I am new to ants and ant-keeping but have experience with many other types of animals, including various invertebrates.  Recently, my niece asked me about ants and ant farms.  I though it might be a nice way to get into a new hobby as well as bonding with someone over a shared interest.  I started looking at the cheap ant farms and eventually found myself here.  I read through the beginner guide and although it's not too intimidating, I thought I might be better able to ask for advice and jump ahead of some of the trial-and-error that might be involved with starting out.  So, here's what I'm after:

1. An ant colony of a species that is large, non-stinging and beginner-friendly and...
  2. An attractive pre-made kit that can house said ants.

I'm not very concerned about budget, but I assume that in this hobby, as in most, there are some fantastically priced ants and gear.  I'd like to keep the whole thing under a few hundred dollars.

Thanks in advance for all your help!  Hopefully you can get a couple inquisitive minds started down the road to proper ant-keeping!

• TestSubjectOne and eea like this

#2 Offline Kaelwizard - Posted July 2 2021 - 1:15 PM

Kaelwizard

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,852 posts