• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Looking to Purchase

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Offline woodrocked - Posted January 12 2021 - 11:46 AM

woodrocked

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO

I am brand new to this. I saw that I needed to put my location in my profile to conduct sales on the forum...I did that.

So, now who would like to guide me on purchasing ants for my sons ant jungle. 

What is the best for a 8 year old? Where can I buy them?

Thank you,

Woodrock

• Ants_Dakota likes this

#2 Offline antsandmore - Posted January 12 2021 - 12:29 PM

antsandmore

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • LocationSan Diego California

for observing, pogonomyrmex(harvester ants) would probably be a good choice. They are good beginner species, and eat seeds. Pogonomyrmex occidentalis are the only species that can be shipped across state lines in the U.S. without a permit. they would probably be a good choice, except they have painful stingers. you can find them on the Tar Heel ants website. also, many people have different suggestions, so I recommend you do your research, and also see what other people have to say here, and then buy. 

• woodrocked likes this

Ants I am keeping:

none for now, planning on being more active this year

#3 Offline woodrocked - Posted January 12 2021 - 12:44 PM

woodrocked

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO