• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

G'day

introduction

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Offline DaveJay - Posted July 1 2018 - 10:14 PM

DaveJay

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • LocationSouth Australia

I've been reading for a while now and became a member so I thought it was time to say g'day to you all.

I'm 48, married and live in South Australia.

I've been keeping scorpions for a few years now and in February I started keeping Tarantulas. In one of the forums a young Australian bloke was showing pictures of his ants and I thought his set-up looked pretty cool.

Just out of casual interest I read some basic info and watched a few videos, I had no intention of keeping ants at the time but I like to research various subjects as they come along, I'm an avid reader with a thirst for knowledge. 

A month or so ago I was sitting outside of a hospital in the city and a lone ant crossed the path in front of me so I took a closer look, going by what I'd read I concluded that it was a queen ant so I caught it in the empty paper coffee cup I was holding, folded the top and took it home.

I had a small enclosure set up with just a compressed substrate mix in it so I put it in there to take some pictures and maybe get an I.D.

The ant now has a small bunch of eggs or larvae so I am now an Ant Keeper!