• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hello from South Carolina! :D

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Offline TofuPower - Posted March 31 2016 - 4:57 AM

TofuPower

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • LocationColumbia, SC

I've been waiting for the weather to warm up so I can try and get a few new colonies going.  

Several years ago, I had great success with a fire ant colony.  I know...but I was a beginner and loved my stupid little fire ants.  Not being very experienced, I just threw a tube with a queen and a few workers into a 10-gallon tank with 3 inches of packed clean topsoil.  I used talc to keep them inside, and double-sticky tape on the outside to catch the monthly escapee.  They really flourished for a long time.

Then my city water changed the chemical they used in the tap water.  It wiped out the entire colony.  I knew some people that lost their fish after a water change.  I was SO crushed...  This colony had a fascinating learned behavior that I'll probably post about later.

Each year since then, I've tried to get a new colony going.  My co-workers have even learned how to spot queens, and I'll sometimes find little sandwich bags on my desk with one inside.  But, something happens every single year and I fail:  Fungus, Mites, the Flood of 2015, or my own stupidity/forgetfulness.  

This year I'm determined.

I've got my test tubes, cotton, and bottled water ready to go!     :yahoo: