• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

My Ceramic ideas

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Offline gutrug - Posted January 2 2016 - 3:14 PM

gutrug

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

So Before i begin I have never kept ants before and i am a complete noob!

But i have a plan with my Formicarium ideas which i believe has not been done before. My girlfriend is a ceramicist and has her own studio and kiln, and Seeing that dspdrew has used non glazed Bisque ceramic tiles to soak moisture, made me think. So first off the best thing about clay is its completely natural (usually) so there should be no substance in there to affect the ants in a bad way. Secondly i can form any shape pattern i like, even add other natural substances that will burn off in the firing to give a specific feel or texture to the design. 

Again a bisque firing is a low temperature firing around 900 degrees Celsius so the use of glazes would not work. which is a shame as glazing the outside of the design would of looked amazing but at 1000-1100 degrees Celsius the clay will be too hard to really soak liquid in. this being said it takes paint (non toxic) really well if i wanted it too. 

The question first would be which clay to use? so i will be doing some small brick tests to see what absorbs water and so on.