• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Neoponera Villosa Journal

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Offline RathalosGR - Posted December 31 2023 - 10:31 AM

RathalosGR

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hey there! Was thinking about starting a journal on this anyway, might as well make it public. First about me, I am not very experienced at all at keeping ants. I have a Camponotus Discolor colony that is about 60 workers strong that I really enjoy watching. Other than that, I have zero experience, I fell into this on accident and now I'm addicted lol.

Backstory on my Neoponera Villosa (Texas Bullet Ant). I found them in mid October in South Texas. I quickly did research and asked around on Facebook about identification and care guides. I settled on tubs and tubes. I originally found 4 queens so I paired them up. The wife and kids had the honor of naming them. The first pair being Elsa and Anna. The second pair being Samuelina L Jackson and Olof. They took FOREVER to lay any eggs. So I'll start the journal today.

December 31, 2023

Elsa&Anna- Together they have 5 eggs and 3 larva at this point. The most weird behavior they portray is that they don't really hunt. They accept dead pray, but as soon as I introduce live cricket they defend their tube but do not attack. I don't know why that is.