• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Lillyrose My first Year Anting: a general all over journal about my experience

• Please log in to reply
115 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Lillyrose - Posted April 2 2021 - 7:42 PM

Lillyrose

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 423 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
So I've had a lot of experiences that don't really qualify for their own journals .. but I would like to document and keep track of.

I have spent a lot of time in the woods over the last few weeks. It has been amazing and my search for small things has really awakened my ability to see the things around me.

I had a quick surprise reminder that snakes are waking up when one squirmed right past my hand.

I found my dream type, dark red carpenter ants. I found 2 nests in the woods and 1 in my back yard. I can't wait to catch a queen for them.

20210320_140900.jpg

20210320_141737.jpg

I managed to react quickly enough to catch a wasp. I'm terrified of wasps, until recently I kinda had a hate relationship with them. I went from excited to .. not .. really fast

20210401_103348.jpg

I have my acorn ants but I haven't spotted a queen. No one else had either until suddenly I spotted new eggs. People have said they maybe see a queen, but she's covered with workers.

I had some eggs and larvae when I took the colony but I thought I missed the queen. I was ready to call it quits on them until I noticed new eggs.