• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Rare ants that you have seen but never caught

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Offline AntsExodus - Posted May 7 2020 - 6:57 AM

AntsExodus

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia, USA

I have seen a lot of rare ant species but never had a chance to catch it. I found a stigmatomma pallipes colony with a queen but I was a beginner and I didn't know they had a queen so I dumped them out of my aspirator. I've also seen some rare Carebara and Ectomomyrmex queens that I could not catch cause I was in Korea.

• Antkid12 and jushi like this

#2 Offline VoidElecent - Posted May 7 2020 - 7:17 AM

VoidElecent

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,339 posts
  • LocationPhiladelphia, PA.

Colobopsis mississippiensis is near the top of my list. There's a colony that lives in a dead tree in my front yard and despite numerous, long nights of black-lighting, I have yet to catch a queen. I've also yet to catch Stenamma spp. and they would be awesome to keep.

#3 Offline FeedTheAnts - Posted May 7 2020 - 7:22 AM

FeedTheAnts

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,238 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Stigmatomma. I spent the entirety of my anting year 2018 trying to find a colony and queen. I only ever saw workers :ugone2far:

• Ants_Dakota likes this

I accidentally froze all my ants 

#4 Offline AntsDakota - Posted May 7 2020 - 9:09 AM