• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Tetramorium Workers

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Offline BMM - Posted October 21 2016 - 8:22 AM

BMM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis

So I've been keeping some Tetramorium sp.E. workers in a tube setup with some dirt for them to dig in. I'm still pretty new to ant keeping and I had a couple of questions about their behavior.

1. I've yet to see them eat anything so far. I've offered them several different types of food such as sugar water, honey, syrup, bread crumbs, small seeds, etc. So far, everything I've added they've covered in dirt. From what I've read, this means they don't want the food. Any ideas on why they keep doing this? There's somewhere between one and two dozen workers in my setup. How often might I expect them to need food?

2. They also seem very excitable. They've dug quite a few tunnels, probably two feet worth in total, and they stay in them most of the time. However, as soon as I expose the setup to light or move it around, they swarm to the surface and begin climbing towards the top, which I have sealed with a plug. It seems more like a reaction than a coordinated escape attempt. Is there any reason why they'd be doing this so consistently?

Any advice or explanations would be appreciated.

#2 Offline MrPurpleB - Posted October 21 2016 - 8:25 AM

MrPurpleB

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip