• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New From Kansas Need Help!

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Trogbad - Posted October 3 2016 - 11:03 PM

Trogbad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationKansas

Hello all!

I'm relatively new to the ant world but I have been studying and researching it for several months now in an attempt to prepare myself for a colony! One major problem though.... Getting ants :( I'm a 24 year old disabled veteran who unfortunately cannot physically go out and catch anymore. I tried... and it put me in the hospital.

As I'm sure most of you know, acquiring queen ants aside from catching them, is rather difficult. I have been back and forth with multiple sites and forums with no luck. Ants Canada has no GAN farmers in my area, and I just can't seem to have any luck. 

I have a beautiful setup from Tar Heel with nothing to live inside. Is there anyone out there who can at least point me in the right direction? Anyone have queens? I'd hate to have put in so much effort for nothing.

• Enderz likes this

#2 Offline Leo - Posted October 4 2016 - 1:10 AM

Leo

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • LocationHong Kong

try setting up a light trap

p.s can u tell us your story :)

Edited by Leo, October 4 2016 - 1:11 AM.

#3 Offline Trogbad - Posted October 4 2016 - 2:05 AM

Trogbad

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationKansas