• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Importing ants from abroad to the U.K.

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Ianwmiles - Posted August 28 2016 - 3:39 AM

Ianwmiles

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationSouth Wales, U.K. / Southern Brazil
Hi,

I'm new to this interesting hobby, and have a question related to foreign species. I'm sorry if this has been covered, but I've not found a thread with specifics so far.

I spend a few months every year with my wife and Daughter in Southern Brazil. Is it possible to LEGALLY bring back queens etc from there, and if so, what would this involve?

I've seen a good number of differing species around the region (sadly I don't have the skills to identify them yet, hopefully with photos the members here will help me learn to ID them).

I see some UK companies offering ants from the Americas, so I'm assuming someone, somewhere must have imported them at some point.

The question is... Is it worth the bother and I assume cost? Can I, as an individual, obtain the required export / import licenses? or should I simply set up a few colonies out there also?

Thanks to all.

#2 Offline Ntume - Posted August 28 2016 - 9:51 AM

Ntume

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts