• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New to all of this and wondering whens the best time to look for queens??

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Offline txboi2583 - Posted February 29 2016 - 7:40 PM

txboi2583

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationRichardson, Tx

Hi I'm a complete newbie to all of this and was wounder when i should start to look for queens and when i should look for them I live in the Dallas area I've already read about where to look for queens on this forum and have purchased a founding formicaria from tarheelants and any other advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated  :)

#2 Offline NightsWebs - Posted February 29 2016 - 8:29 PM

NightsWebs

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • LocationSo Cal

It actually depends on the species do you have any ideas of the ants in your area?  There is also a nuptial flight chart in the forum all you have to do is search for it.

Current Colonies;

Acromyrmex Versicolor

Dorymyrmex Bicolor

Pogonomyrmex Californicus
Pogonomyrmex Rugosus

Pogonomyrmex Tenuispinus
Novomessor Cockerelli
Myrmecocystus Mexicanus

Last Update: 08 Jul 2016

#3 Offline Mdrogun - Posted March 1 2016 - 4:36 AM

Mdrogun

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 943 posts
  • LocationGainesville, FL