• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Encourange Lasius Niger to move colony

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Offline thunderstrand - Posted April 28 2024 - 2:05 PM

thunderstrand

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi there,

I'm just starting out, got a small Lasius Niger colony living in the test tube they arrived in. They're quite happy in the dark with a bit of honey and some cricket protein. 

I ordered a habitat for them to live in, and I've set it up with substrate, leaf litter, sand, bark and moss - it's all been sterilised except for the moss. The water in their test tube is going to run out soonish, so I'd like to encourage them to move, but for some reason the place I purchased them from sent them in a test tube that won't fit in the colony, but included another smaller test tube that will fit.

I tried connecting the two test tubes, providing water and food in the smaller one, and leaving the larger one in the light while shading the smaller tube with tinfoil to encourage them to move across. I kept it like this for several days, but they stayed in the original tube and just looked sort of miserable.