• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Need advice! Dry loving Camponotus in Tarheel Mini Hearth

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Ernteameise - Posted March 29 2024 - 2:18 AM

Ernteameise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 856 posts
  • LocationGermany
I have a question for all you experts on here. I am still kind of new to this.
So I have two mini hearths and I have two different ant species in there, Lasius niger (which is the common garden ant) and Camponotus piceus (which is from Southern Europe and lives in DRY habitats).
They use the nest space in the mini hearths completely different. Lasius sits on top of the water tower, Camponotus as far away from it as possible.
For dry loving Camponotus- is it actually necessary to fill up the water towers? I have heard they can moisten their nest themselves and there is plenty of water offered in a test tube for them.
So should I refill the water tower of Camponotus piceus when it has evaporated?

How are the people on here caring for different Camponotus species handle this?

Lasius sitting on top of the water tower:

2803_Lasius_mit_Brut.jpg

Camponotus piceus sitting as far away from water tower as possible:

2803_Camponotus_mit_Brut.jpg

The nests are these versions:

Mini_Hearths.jpg

• futurebird likes this

#2 Offline futurebird - Posted March 29 2024 - 3:44 AM

futurebird

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 824 posts