• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Best species related to experience rankings.

best species

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Offline antsriondel - Posted October 9 2023 - 3:33 PM

antsriondel

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • LocationRiondel British Columbia Canada.

As a beginner I always heard that Lasius and Camponotus are perfect beginner species. I have kept both and found that Camponotus is really slow growing which was hard as a beginner, and Lasius are really hard to found (for me at least).

Please put any species you want on a scale of 1-10 one being very beginner friendly and ten being for only very experienced or skilled ant keepers.

• ANTdrew, bmb1bee and 100lols like this

#2 Offline ANTdrew - Posted October 9 2023 - 5:14 PM

ANTdrew

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,415 posts
  • LocationAlexandria, VA
Here’s two perfect 1s:
Aphaenogaster treatae: Large, nice coloration, very neat, and exciting feeding responses.

Nylanderia vividula: Lovely bi-coloration, explosive growth, but they cap at a very manageable number, quick to get alates, easy to contain with fluon. Also micro-repletes.

Edited by ANTdrew, October 10 2023 - 2:17 AM.

• antsriondel, bmb1bee, Voidley and 1 other like this
"The ants are a people not strong, yet they prepare their meat in the summer." Prov. 30:25
Keep ordinary ants in extraordinary ways.