• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Glass / acrylic panes for DIY formicarium

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Offline antdoctor - Posted December 18 2020 - 10:59 AM

antdoctor

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Hi,

I'm just getting started in the DIY world. I'm going to be making some nests out of hydrostone soon based on some of the DIY journals I've seen here. I'm planning on using magnets to secure a glass or plastic pane to provide a view into the nest. I would prefer the aesthetic that glass provides. I'm just wondering what people use for this purpose. I've found glass microscope slides (3" x 1") and glass picture frame replacements (much larger) on Amazon. Should I be looking elsewhere to find other sizes? I'm also thinking about doing some other shapes such as circles - does anyone know where I might find circular glass cut outs?

I know THA offers museum quality glass. Does anyone know where I could find this quality of product?

Would I be better off using plastic? Is there an easy way to cut plexiglass at home?

Thanks!

Edited by antdoctor, December 18 2020 - 11:27 AM.

• Ants_Dakota likes this

#2 Offline ANTdrew - Posted December 18 2020 - 1:14 PM

ANTdrew

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,426 posts
  • LocationAlexandria, VA
You could find lots of different size glass frames at a hobby store like Michael’s or Hobby Lobby.
  • Ants_Dakota likes this