• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

DIY Ant Formicarium

• Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 Offline YellowRubberDucky111 - Posted December 9 2020 - 7:37 PM

YellowRubberDucky111

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Hello all! I'm new to the the ant keeping scene and want to try my hand at it. I have a Kritter Keeper I want to convert into a formicarium. My plan is to put a rectangle box in the middle of the tank and make tunnels that are pressed up against the wall of the tank. I also want to make a top layer that serves as a foraging area. This is what I'm taking inspiration from. My question is how would I make the tunnels against the glass and I what materials I should use. Is there a DIY guide that I can check? I also want to know if anyone else had used a Kritter Keeper to make a formicarium before and has any tips. Thank you!

#2 Offline SleepyAsianAnter - Posted December 9 2020 - 8:59 PM

SleepyAsianAnter

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles (SoCal)

That appears to be a painted Ytong or K23 Brick with chambers carved or dremeled into it. It is then placed inside the box, and plaster, likely ultracal or hydrostone, was poured on the side. 

Hydration comes from a small hole that a syringe can be inserted into, it'll fill up that separated chamber and wick throughout the nest. You can see the hole in this pic