• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Motorbike Camponotus

camponotus decipiens

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Offline aeipathyx - Posted November 13 2020 - 12:46 AM

aeipathyx

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationTexas

Background: My dad is a mechanic and wanted to fix up a small old motorbike we had in the backyard. I have been keeping inverts in general for 2 years and got into antkeeping just this year but I know a decent amount due to hanging around invert discords where people keep ants. One last note, I live in Texas where we have extremely mild winters with highs of 75°F / 23°C and lows of 40°F / 4°C.

I started collecting the colony with advice and care tips from some friends who keep ants but was encouraged to post about this colony here because it has turned out to be a little weird. A friend ID'd them as Camponotus Decipiens.

Here's a picture of the bike with the tubes they were nesting in circled in red and the nest entrances circled in yellow. I retrieved most of the colony by drilling a couple holes and blowing them out with an air compressor (weak blasts of air just to get them moving). 

annotated bike