• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Classroom Ant Colony

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Kalidas - Posted August 25 2020 - 8:27 AM

Kalidas

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • LocationSanta Ana
As some of you know I am a preschool teacher. Well this year I was transfered to a new center to be the teacher in a new classroom. This is actually going to be an age group this center has never had(toddlers). Currently I am the only teacher in the class(they are still looking for a second one) and thus have full say over what goes in the classroom.

So I talked to the director about adding an Ant Colony as a classroom pet/educational experience. Been working with Drew on getting a colony set up. I am thinking a myrmecocystus mexicanus. I think their repletes would be a great leaning experience for the kids and in general just fun to look at. Also they are native to the area and thus would be great for the kids to know what's around them. Besides the standard Argentine ants or the large red harvester ants we see everywhere.

So I was looking at tarheel formicariums. They're are some great ones, but there is a problem, glass. The director said we can't use glass because of the potential of it falling and breaking. Any ideas for an alternative? Maybe I should also get a dirtbox formicarium from Drew along with the ants as well.

Either way pretty excited for the new year