• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Heating a Mini Hearth

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Acshaw89 - Posted May 4 2020 - 6:38 AM

Acshaw89

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationOhio

Hi all

Complete noob here. I've got a Pogonomyrmex colony that I've just moved in to my THA Mini Hearth (see link below). I'm trying to figure out what the best way to heat this formicarium is.  Namely I'm trying to determine if I should use a heating mat or a heating cable.  Right now I have a heating cable with one loop around the foraging area and I've noticed that they are congregating in the water towers (the moved the brood there as well).  I feel like this might be unusual and am thinking it is either because they just moved in or because the heating cable is cooking the nest and they are moving everything toward the water towers to cool it off.

From what I've seen, people seem to prefer heating the forage area instead of from the bottom of the formicarium. 

Is heating a cable the best way to do this or could i use a reptile heating mat with a temperature controller and heat from the bottom?

Is the colony moving in to the water towers indicative of the environment being too hot?  

https://tarheelants....cts/mini-hearth

#2 Offline Nare - Posted May 4 2020 - 7:02 AM

Nare

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 385 posts