• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New Odontomachus - 10 day vacation - HELP

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Offline teek - Posted July 25 2017 - 10:23 PM

teek

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationArizona

Okay all, this is my first year collecting queens, and I am really excited. Today... TODAY!!!! I caught two Odontomachus queens. TRAP JAW ANTS!

I am terribly excited for these little buggers, but my research has told me that they are difficult to get up and running, and they are semi-claustral... Here is where the problem comes in... I am going on a 10 day vacation TOMORROW.

I have them both in the kind of Tar-Heel Ants Mini-Hearth as pictured. I have both the water tower and the nest mate filled with water. And I have a water dish filled with brown sugar water in the outworld.

I know that Odontomachus sp. are predators. Hunters. And I am unsure if they will be okay while I am out of town. When I put the brown sugar water towers in, they both went to them and drank heavily. So I know they're taking a liking to those.

Any tips? Tricks? Has anybody raised trap jaws before? I don't have time to go to a reptile store to get feeders for them. I don't have someone I can trust to feed them. Heck, I wouldn't even know what directions to leave for someone.