• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Success Rate

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Offline SaintDrake - Posted August 30 2016 - 7:16 PM

SaintDrake

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationEvanston, Il

I am new to ant keeping and was wondering for more experienced ant keepers what is your success rate for starting new colonies? I am sure for some you have no actual idea but what is your guess? I have had 5 queens die on me total so far from 3 different species. I have 3 queens already with eggs and 1 with workers (I dug these up though :P!) 

I guess my success rate (ratio) technically is 3:1 for every 3 queens I have alive I had one queen die. Maybe 4:1.

Edited by SaintDrake, August 30 2016 - 7:57 PM.

#2 Offline Canadian anter - Posted August 30 2016 - 7:57 PM

Canadian anter

Vendor

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,541 posts
  • LocationToronto,Canada
Depends on the species and the environment
Visit us at www.canada-ant-colony.com !

#3 Offline SaintDrake - Posted August 30 2016 - 7:59 PM

SaintDrake

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationEvanston, Il

I am asking more for your overall success rate. How many colonies have you had successfully take off and how many have you had kick the bucket before even getting off the ground. 

#4 Offline SaintDrake - Posted August 30 2016 - 8:01 PM

SaintDrake

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts