• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

My queen ant searching journey. How long does it take?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Offline voylin - Posted August 21 2021 - 1:40 PM

voylin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
So I am a person who likes tracking and journalling things. This is my first time looking for queen ants here in Japan, so everytime I went out to search, I started writing down where I went and the kind of ants I saw and where. (right now it's just size and colors of ants:p)

# My first 3 hours.
No luck at finding any queens but I was at a big park and saw a couple of species. Also saw a lot of different insects.

# 4-5 hour.
Hooray! I found a queen ant ... or so I thought. Turned out the be a ant mimicing spider. Whilst catching that one an older woman was standing behind me and was staring at me. She was curious to as what I was doing. We had a small talk and I received candy.

# 6-15 hours.
Was very dissapointing, maybe the areas where I was looking were not right but I couldn't even find any kind of worker ant.

# 16-22 hours.
I have been very busy with work but I would skip taking trains and walk instead to look. It is basically evening/night so I was looking with my flashlight. However, this also turned out to be unsuccessful. :c

# Future plan and questions