• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New member and new hobbyist looking for help

• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 Offline GreekAnts - Posted July 15 2021 - 2:17 PM

GreekAnts

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • LocationAthens, Greece

Hey, I am new here and I am new to the hobby too,my name is Angelos and I am from Athens, Greece,
I have tried to start a colony in the past with no luck (all the queens I had, died in the founding colony process) and I gave up but I never stopped to be fascinated with ants, so one day youtube decided to suggest me some videos and I started watching a lot of them,I began to search more online about ants and I decided that I really want to keep at least one colony of local only ants, I started going outside with my testubes but I had no luck because here it hasnt rain for a while and its not going to any time soon.. I decided to wait(I am waiting a week and I guess it will take another one) but in the meantime I am going to local parks and forest like parks to search for ant nests, I mark their location on my phone and when it will rain I am going to visit this parks to search for mated queens. The ants here arent so many and after 2 years since my last time I was into the hobby I think a lot of them dissapeared, I havent see any camponotus for example, I only see big headed ants and some little ones (idk their species).