• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Greetings!

intro michigan

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Offline PhasorShift - Posted September 18 2020 - 7:56 PM

PhasorShift

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 117 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Hello!

My name is Phasor and I'm brand new to the hobby, though I remember having an interest in ants way back when I was little. I remember having an Uncle Milton ant farm (though I don't think I ever actually put ants in it) and playing a couple ant themed video games in the '90s. (I have fond yet very vague memories of SimAnt)

Anyway, I've always enjoyed those relaxing aquarium feeding or terrarium build videos, so a couple weeks ago an AntsCanada video popped into my suggestions, and I ended up watching the entire playlist through in just a couple days. I remembered my interest in ants from my childhood, and thought now that I'm older, properly raising a colony was something I might be able to do, and could be interested in. So I started doing a bit more research and finding an ant-keeping discord server and this forum.