• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Workers died but queen is still alive

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Offline DerpyBoas - Posted September 4 2019 - 12:05 PM

DerpyBoas

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationMichigan
A little background, this is my first year of ant keeping and I bought a Camponotus nova queen in July. They had been doing great, till about a week ago. A few days after they moved out of a moldy test tube, the workers started to die one by one. I was up to 10 workers, now 0.

They almost looked like they were having seizures or something. It took 3 days till the last worker died. They werent all effected at once, but once they showed symptoms they died fast and it spread in the colony.

I've monitored the queen and she seems to be doing fine. She does seem... depressed? I don't really know how to describe it. She has some brood left, a couple larvae and eggs, but she isn't taking care of them as well as she did before. She has even laid some new eggs I think.

Is my first colony a lost cause or can I still save the queen and help her out? Advice?

Thread to my journal so you can look into my care of them, though it hasnt been updated with the latest.

http://www.formicult...updated-aug-24/

#2 Offline Kaelwizard - Posted September 4 2019 - 12:36 PM

Kaelwizard

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,852 posts
  • LocationPoway, California