• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Myrmecocystus Mexicanus

myrmecocystus mexicanus honeypot honeypots

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Offline charliebynar - Posted November 25 2017 - 10:53 AM

charliebynar

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • LocationArizona

Hello all,

I am new at ant keeping and need some help! I have 5 Myrmecocystus Mexicanus queens that have a small number of workers that have hatched from pupae donated from wild colonies. I have not been able to have the queens develop their own workers and not sure of the problem. Perhaps protein or nest material or humidity. If any of you have tips on this subject please let me know.

Thanks,

Charlie

#2 Offline T.C. - Posted November 25 2017 - 11:25 AM

T.C.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,059 posts
Is it just not laying eggs, or larva dying off or what?
“If I am killed for simply living, let death be kinder than man.” -Althea Davis

#3 Offline charliebynar - Posted November 26 2017 - 8:59 AM

charliebynar

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • LocationArizona

I just don't know basics it seems. How much water to add to the dirt or sub straight depending on what is used. I don't know what to feed them. I just read Drew's journal on Myrmecocystus mexicanus so that was helpful.