• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Local ants got to my captive ants.

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Scrixx - Posted September 6 2017 - 11:49 AM

Scrixx

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • LocationSan Bernardino County, CA.

Okay so I'm still pretty new to the hobby, only started a few months ago. I'm learning a lot. It looks like there's still way more to learn. Well one of those things is that local household ants find captive ants quite tasty. I lost all of my ants with out-worlds except for two. I believe the attacking ants are Argentine ants because they die very quickly when exposed to water. As far as I know Solenopsis invicta would have at least floated or survived for at least 10 minutes.

I keep my ants in a two drawer setup. The top rack has my test tubes while the bottom rack has ants in out-worlds. The out-worlds are containers with small punched holes with a classic test tube setup inside them. Turns out the small punched holes were big enough for the invading ants to get in. Also some of my ants ran out of water so I connected them to another test tube with tape. I left a gap in the tape for air but the attacking ants also slipped in that small gap.

What I learned: Don't leave open gaps and holes in your containers. Plug them up with cotton.

Losses:

3x Myrmecocystus mexicanus

3x Pogonomyrmex

10+ aggregate smaller species.