• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hello from Surf City

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Offline koeng - Posted October 26 2016 - 6:36 AM

koeng

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Hello everyone!

I'm a student from Huntington Beach, CA. My nickname is 'Koeng' (Ko-ing). I'm looking to start setting up a few ant colonies of my own after failing with the local argentine ants for a couple of years. (They have made the local species go extinct and now it's only them. They are very tenacious and don't believe in barriers. I set up some petro jelly at the top of my formicarium and nearly the entire colony suicided into it. I've never gotten any queens to lay eggs, even when I brood boost hundreds of workers for them. My first mistake was that they were claustral, which they most definitely are not).

I also happen to be a DIY synthetic biologist, hence the DNA for profile pic, so I have the equipment and know-how to do genetic testing and large-scale growth of fungi. I'm interested in characterization of leafcutter ant fungi, endosymbionts Camponotus, and possibly bacteria inside of repletes, although I'm also just interested in ants themselves as amazing biological machines. 

-Koeng

#2 Offline T.C. - Posted October 26 2016 - 7:28 AM

T.C.

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,059 posts