• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hello from Lakeville NY

new member new york lasius niger

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Offline Kerensa - Posted September 15 2016 - 4:02 AM

Kerensa

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello! 

I'm Kerensa and I live in Lakeville Ny,  which is on the north shore of Lake Conesus-  the most western of the finger lakes.  I am an artist and Anthropology student. 

I am new to the world of ant keeping-  very new-  so new in fact that I do not yet have any ants at all!!   I have done a good deal of research however and Although I don't feel 100% confident quite yet,  I'm going to have a look see and hope to find a queen or two.  I'm told that in this area its not yet too late.   I'm a bit torn on this.  In one way I'd rather wait till I'm quite confident and 100% sure I know exactly what to do-  and on the other hand I don't really want to have to wait a whole year, or even nearly one!  I don't have much hope as I'm fairly certain the mating flights are over,  but having been told that warm fall days are still an option I shall look.