• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Banded Sugar Ant (Camponotus consobrinus)

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Offline markomac - Posted November 26 2021 - 5:39 PM

markomac

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationSydney, Australia
Let me start this thread by saying I’m an absolute beginner. This is my first attempt at raising ants, so happy to take any advice on offer as I go.

I didn’t catch my Queen. I purchased her from a shop online and she was delivered from the ACT to NSW (in Australia) on September 28th. I basically placed her test tube into a kind of Tupperware container with some red sand that I purchased at the same time, set some rocks up to stop the tube from rolling and left her be in a little used room (I have a Prop Replica Movie Collection/Whisky Bar setup in a spare room upstairs, so she’s tucked away in there away from our cats and near 2 year old daughter.)

52828CEC-A322-4139-AC4B-BE11EE83B4AB.jpeg