• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

New test tube set-up

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Cascade - Posted September 19 2021 - 8:15 AM

Cascade

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts

Hey everbody, 

I'm a biotech student at the end of my study. Currently working on a pretty cool tissue culture project for D. californica, and I thought that the same kind of medium would be very well suited to keep beginning ant colonies. People have probably thought of it before, but I'd like to try it out with you all:) 

The idea: 

• Water > duh
  • Sucrose > as food supply
  • Agar > to make the gel suspension
  • Penicillin + streptomycin > to fight of the pesky bacteria and fungi wreaking havoc on beginning ant colonies
  • Vitamin solution? or something else, not quite sure about all the nutritional requirements of ants since I don't have much experience keeping them

And then the end-product would look something like this: 
    new ant gel set-up.jpg

I see that the picture is a bit big, don't mind me;p

Feedback? Interest? 
    Since I don't know for sure how good it'll work, I'd love to send some of these tubes to interested folks that have a starting ant colony, just to see how it works out. (Any colour you'd like) Granted that you keep me up to date  ;)

• TestSubjectOne, That_one_ant_guy and antsinvirgina like this

#2 Offline Manitobant - Posted September 19 2021 - 12:05 PM

Manitobant

Advanced Member