• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

GAN Project having people illegally sell ants in the US?!?!

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Offline AntsExodus - Posted May 17 2020 - 2:11 PM

AntsExodus

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia, USA

I'm sorry about this but someone has to bring it up. I have been a GAN farmer for who knows how long and I have been been seeing this person sell ILLEGAL ants in Georgia. He's selling CAMPONOTUS HERCULEANUS! He claimed he bought them from British Ants and he said nobody cares, so he is just going to sell them to get money. I emailed AntsCanada about this but sadly had no reply and its been a few months. Camponotus herculeanus is not native to my state and is native to the northern parts of the US. I do not understand why this has been happening for more than 2 years and just now said out loud by me! Yes he has been selling these ants for 2 years! He has been also selling Solenopsis invicta a.k.a RIFA and Solenopsis ritcheri a.k.a BIFA.

I saw another forum on Formiculture talking about selling RIFA and BIFA and antscanada said they would not allow the selling of them. CLEARLY they did not even try to stop the selling of Solenopsis invicta cause I see people selling it in other states too! Another crazy thing this person is doing that AntsCanada has not seen is he is selling a queen with eggs and no worker.