• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Silq's Ant Journal

camponotous semitestaceus pogonomyrmex californicus

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Silq - Posted July 24 2019 - 11:49 AM

Silq

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA

Intro: I am totally brand new in the world of ant keeping. I was always interested in ants ever since I was little and have had many pets growing up from piranhas, lizards, cats, dogs, etc. I was thinking of presents for my 6 year old niece and I thought of Sea Monkeys as they were something that I had that fascinated me as a kid. Somehow a vid of youtube transitioned from Sea Monkeys to ants from the AC youtube channel. After a week, I picked up my first colony.

7/22/19

Picked up camponotus semitestaceus from a prominent member here who told me about these forums. Received a small starter formicarium with a queen, 4 workers, and 1 dead worker. Looks like there are two larva, I will call this Colony 1 for now. He also gave me a test tube with another queen and 3 workers and 2 eggs, I will call this Colony 2. I mixed some honey with water and gave a drop to Colony 2. A worker immediately drank some then fed the queen. I forget what it is called Tropha-something? The queen went to the source and drank some herself.

7/23/19