• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Does anyone know if ant protein Jelly is worth purchasing?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Offline AntJohnny - Posted December 5 2018 - 3:52 PM

AntJohnny

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • LocationMichigan Lower Pen.
Since I am new to ant keeping and started late in the year. I want to learn as much as I can and be as prepared as possible after hibernation. I try to find as much info as I can anywhere before I post here. I don't know if I can trust other sources online. I know a lot of you are expirenced here though. I wanted to know if anyone here has tried ant jelly. I'm sure it is good for them, I just don't know if it is worth buying or if it's better to use fruits or natural foods. Since my colony is still is hibernating the next few months I can stock up on supplies.

#2 Offline Serafine - Posted December 5 2018 - 4:37 PM

Serafine

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,782 posts
  • LocationGermany

Some ants eat it, others don't.

My Camponotus ants aren't really that impressed by any jelly but then they don't like anything that isn't liquid or 'liquid in a shell' (=fresh insects). The Lasius niger have just completely ignored it so far.

The type of food your ants eat heavily depends on which species they are. There are ants that eat fruits for sugars and there are ants that don't.

Edited by Serafine, December 5 2018 - 4:37 PM.