• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hibernation- First Time Questions

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Major - Posted September 5 2018 - 3:07 PM

Major

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • LocationRochester, New York
Ok so I know TA just started a thread on this but i have some more questions on hibernation

It's my first year antkeeping and I love it. It's all been mostly easy so far, but here comes hibernation. Now, I basically have no idea whatsoever on to how to hibernate my ants. Heres what I think I'll be hibernating this year;

-Crematogaster Lineolata, 10 workers, Drew's Starter Formicarium

-Camponotus Pennsylvanicus, 50 workers, Omni Nest Large (AC)

-Nyladeria (Flavipes?), under 10 workers, Test Tube

-Formica Subserica, 10+ workers, Test Tube

-Tetramorium Immigrans, Brood, Test Tube

-Tapinoma Sessile, 1 worker, Test Tube

-Lasius Neoniger, Brood, Test Tube

-Lasius (Brevicornis?), No Brood, Test Tube

Now as you see, I have a fair number of ants. Now, how do I hibernate them all? Should I buy a Mini Fridge? I know almost NOTHING about hibernation and even need to know the basics.

Thank you so much!
  • rbarreto likes this

#2 Offline Apex - Posted September 5 2018 - 3:36 PM

Apex

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationSouthern California