• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Hello from DFW Texas

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Offline OgienChomik - Posted April 8 2018 - 1:42 PM

OgienChomik

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • LocationDFW Texas

Hello from Dallas Texas!

I'm somewhat new to keeping ant colonies as I have a single one year old ant colony of an unknown species, although I suspect it to be the argentine ant. Over the past year I've kept a cricket colony for 3 solid generations only to have them die out due to lack of maintenance, and a super worm colony that is currently on it's second generation with the first generation finally starting to die out due to old age.

I've sadly killed many queens due to lack of understanding on how to continue the colony or even raise specific types of ants from their founding stage but I've learned a lot from them and hope to share and gain knowledge on keeping certain types of ants here. I'm an aspiring entomologist going through my first year of college getting my basics out of the way to transfer to Texas A&M (hopefully) and shoot for a double major most likely the second one being for agronomy as I would most likely be able to work more closely with ants and other bugs relating to ants and other super organisms.