• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Tetramorium sp. E. (pavement ants)

• Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#1 Offline XZero38 - Posted June 28 2016 - 8:21 AM

XZero38

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • LocationHenderson, CO

So this is my first attempt at raising a colony of ants, and right now in Denver Tetramorium sp. E. are in their nuptial flight season. I went out last week and found 3 queens, two on Monday 6/20/16 around 1730-1800 right after i got home from work. I found a 3rd queen the following morning 6/21/16 around 0700 just outside the daycare i drop my dog off at. I have them in a basic test tube setup sitting in a dark closet in a spare bedroom upstairs. After 5 days queen one hadn't laid any eggs at all, while queen 2 had laid eggs but they were scattered all of the test tube, queen three on the other hand had a small pile of eggs and was tending to them. So that following Saturday 6/25/16 I decided that queens 1 and 2 were not either fertilized or strong enough to start a colony and i got rid of them and went out that morning around 0730 to look for more queens and i ended up finding 4 more in less then 10 minutes and saw another 5-6 as I was walking back home with no more empty test tubes. I got back home the 4 new queens were put in the same basic test tube setup as queen 3. I checked on them last night and queens 1-3 all have a pile of eggs that they are tending to (que