• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Advice on keeping workers from different species alive in southern California?

veromessor pergandei tapinoma sessile formica francoeuri solenopsis xyloni polyergus breviceps worker southern california

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Offline ahale - Posted May 23 2016 - 3:21 PM

ahale

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Hi all, my name is Amanda and I'm a UCR Phd student new to entomology and ants in general. Does any one have advice on how to keep workers alive for at least 8 weeks? I'm going to collect these species in Riverside, CA: Veromessor pergandei, Tapinoma sessile, Formica francoeuri, and Solenopsis
xyloni. I will try to collect a Polyergus breviceps colony if it has any slave species, but it looks like it is rare in southern California.

For my project, I have to keep their diet and enclosure as similar as possible, if not identical. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

#2 Offline Subverted - Posted May 23 2016 - 3:27 PM

Subverted

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • LocationSoCal

Keeping workers alive for long periods without a queen can be quite a challenge.

I would suggest you perform some experiments with workers in test tubes feeding them insect matter and sugar solution(nectar mix) but you may have to work at it to keep things alive for 8 weeks. Can you elaborate on what your goals are for your project?

• ahale likes this