• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

What can I put in an outworld?

outworld vivarium

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Offline rubberbandgirl - Posted July 9 2018 - 2:07 PM

rubberbandgirl

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Hi there, I'm very new to ant keeping - I've had my little colony of messor barbarus for a few weeks now.  I have them in an acrylic formicarium, but I do have an at present unused aquarium that I thought it might be a nice idea to place the acrylic habitat inside and use the aquarium as a huge outworld for them.  I was just wondering what sort of decorations etc it's safe to put into an outworld?  Are there restrictions on natural products due to the possibility of mites or bugs etc getting into the nest?  Or can you put into it stuff that you find outside, like dried branches or tree bark etc? (Obviously from areas without pesticide use.)  Thanks in advance for any advice! :-)

• DaveJay likes this

#2 Offline AntsMaryland - Posted July 9 2018 - 3:57 PM

AntsMaryland

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • LocationMaryland

I would recommend taking any branches or anything you find outside and sterilize it; to prevent possible mites, bacteria, or harmful fungi getting to your ants. I believe you can simply sterilize things by baking it in the oven. But you should get someone else's advice as well, just to make sure I'm right.

Best of luck!

-AntsMaryland