• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Noobie question ;)

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Offline StayLoki - Posted March 1 2018 - 12:40 PM

StayLoki

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts
Hey guys..my name's Amanda!! I'm a super noob.. I literally just found my first queen and I'm wondering if I made a huge mistake?? I'm in new york, its march 1st obviously but its been in the 50s the last few days and rained lightly yesterday. I've been researching ants and formicariums for months..I was gonna order a l.flavus from antskingdom in the spring but I was walking my dog earlier and noticed a little ant hill with a little 'solider' testing the temps lol it looked like a little queen borrow or sorts so I thought of bringing a shovel and little container when i went to go again this afternoon.. I didn't think id find it again but I actually did..sort of overturned it with the shovel and there she was! A queen.. With wings tho and a few workers ..no eggs now that I think about it.. There was another smaller winged ant who I scooped up too just in case it was a male and she hasn't mated.. Apon reflection I didn't see any eggs or larvae and I'm wondering if I just kidnapped a queen who isn't even gravid??
Just wait and see if eggs come?

#2 Offline Reevak - Posted March 1 2018 - 1:02 PM

Reevak

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts