• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Get paid to collect Solenopsis brood for science!

solenopsis invicta solenopsis fire ant rifa s. invicta job money paid science research

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Offline _antqueen - Posted July 5 2017 - 11:47 AM

_antqueen

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello fellow ant enthusiasts,
I am a researcher working at Rockefeller University with the Kronauer Lab. In our lab, we study Oocerea biroi (formerly known as Cerapachys biroi), which we feed using brood from fire ant (Solenopsis invicta) colonies. We typically travel to the American South twice a year to collect brood in person. However, as our lab (humans and O. biroi colonies) has been growing, our ants have been consuming more Solenopsis brood than we can collect in a single trip. Our lab is hoping to outsource this task to enthusiastic ant hobbyists looking to make a bit of extra money on the side, while getting another excuse to go out and dig up some invasive fire ant colonies! If you are potentially interested in working with our lab on this aspect of our research, let me know and I can send you more information!

Addendum: our ants do not feed primarily on Solenopsis brood, it is just what we have been collecting in the past. If you have access to large quantities of other invasive ant species (Argentine ant, etc.) brood, that is also a feasible option!

Edited by _antqueen, July 5 2017 - 12:57 PM.