• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

McDonald, OH, USA - 5/18/2017 (Lots of pics)

Best Answer Nathant2131 , May 18 2017 - 12:54 PM

Camponotus pennsylvanicus queen.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Hikari - Posted May 18 2017 - 12:39 PM

Hikari

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • LocationNE Ohio, USA

I'm new at this, and this is my first ant catch, so I hope y'all can help me make a positive ID. I'd like to know if I snagged a queen (I think I did?), and from some Googling I'm pretty sure it's Camponotus, but I'm not sure which kind.

1. Location of collection: McDonald, Ohio (in NE part of the state), found on porch.

2. Date of collection: 5/18/2017, around 1am

3. Habitat of collection: Yard has grass and small wooded areas.

4. Length (from head to gaster): 17 mm

5. Color, hue, pattern and texture: Shiny black, with gold hairs and shiny gold stripes on gaster in the light.

6. Distinguishing characteristics: BIG. (Sorry, new and not very good at this. See pics)

7. Distinguishing behavior: Very gentle. Held her in my hand with no biting before I managed to get her into a collection container. Didn't like test tube at first, chewed at cotton. Settled down quickly in the dark though.

8. Nest description: N/A, was found wandering alone on wooden porch.