• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Maru's Camponotus Journal

camponotus maru journal pennsylvanicus novaeboracencis herculeanus

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Offline MonsieurMaru - Posted June 5 2019 - 8:39 AM

MonsieurMaru

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Hello, I'm new to the Ant keeping Hobby. Most of my Knowledge is limited to what i watched on AntsCanada Channel by Mikey and AntsAustralia. I've also watched, read some of the stuff from here which is why I decided to create a Journal here in hopes that I can be guided correctly in this journey. 

Here's a look at the current set up. i think the black sponge filters are putting the test tubes too far for the heating cable to actually do anything.

The blue ones are Camponotus Nova species and the red one is Camponotus Herculeanus.

GUTzi7E.jpg

I absolutely love the camponotus species and been looking up as much information on them as possible.

Knowing that they are mostly tree huggers, i wanted to create an environment similar to that. However from the research i have done, wood is not the best at being a formicaria. would anyone have any tips on how i can simulate this and still have the ability to observe the nest?