• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

I need some guides on antkeeping!

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Offline bleepboop - Posted March 14 2019 - 11:58 AM

bleepboop

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationIndiana

Hello community,

I'm working in a university research lab and I am planning on doing some experimental work involving ants. Because I have never kept ant colonies in the past, I am a complete newby in the topic and I would like some advice from the experienced.

To go into a bit more detail in what I want exactly:

1. I want to use pavement ants, camponotus species or other ants of comparable size (their large size makes them much more suitable for the work I want to do). When and where are the best time and place to capture a queen after nupital flight or to dig up a colony? Any special tricks that I should be aware of? Also I would like a setup that are tailored specifically for these species- what are some things that I need to keep in mind?