• Chat
  •  
  •  

Welcome to Formiculture.com!

This is a website for anyone interested in Myrmecology and all aspects of finding, keeping, and studying ants. The site and forum are free to use. Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation points to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

solenopsis invicta resilience to cold

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Offline Shifty189 - Posted January 10 2019 - 6:04 PM

Shifty189

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • LocationSouth Florida

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to ant keeping, this season will mark the beginning of my second year. I have had a colony of Solenopsis Invicta almost the whole time. Living in South Florida, and understanding that they originate from South America I have come to understand that this species is very intolerant of cold. I bought a small heating mat and a Sensor Push online, unfortunately, I had a problem with the heating mat (darn euro plug) and ended up leaving them in the cold a few more nights then I would think that they could tolerate. this includes last night where it got as low as 49 degrees fahrenheit. Has anyone else known of this species being able to tolerate cold of this kind?

#2 Offline Guy_Fieri - Posted January 10 2019 - 6:34 PM

Guy_Fieri

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • LocationOrange County

I have seen a mature wild colony of S. invicta that survived a light frost in the winter. The workers seemed a bit slow but other than that they were acting normal. I would still recommend a heating mat, but I don't think you have any reason to worry.

Edited by Guy_Fieri, January 10 2019 - 6:35 PM.